ETSI Network Function Virtualization Reference Framework - Major Blocks

ETSI Network Function Virtualization Reference Framework


Which major block is not included in the ETSI Network Function Virtualization reference framework?



Click on the arrows to vote for the correct answer

A. B. C. D.


The ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute) Network Function Virtualization (NFV) reference framework is a blueprint that defines the roles and relationships of various functional blocks that are essential to the implementation of NFV. The framework consists of four major blocks:

  1. Network Function Virtualization Infrastructure (NFVI)
  2. Network Function Virtualization Management and Orchestration (NFV MANO)
  3. Virtualized Network Function/Element (VNF/E)
  4. Operations Support Systems (OSS) and Business Support Systems (BSS)

The NFVI block provides the physical and virtual resources required to host VNFs, such as servers, storage, and networking equipment. The NFV MANO block manages and orchestrates the entire NFV infrastructure, including the VNFs, NFVI resources, and OSS/BSS systems. The VNF/E block is responsible for implementing the virtualized network functions, which are the building blocks of the NFV architecture. Finally, the OSS/BSS block provides the necessary support for the operation and management of the NFV environment.

The correct answer to the question is option C, Network Function Virtualization Policy Manager, which is not included in the ETSI NFV reference framework. However, it is worth noting that the ETSI NFV framework is a high-level reference model, and it is possible to have different interpretations and implementations of the framework depending on specific use cases and requirements.

In summary, the ETSI NFV reference framework includes four major blocks, namely NFVI, NFV MANO, VNF/E, and OSS/BSS, while the Network Function Virtualization Policy Manager is not part of this framework.