Default Syslog Facility Level

Default Syslog Facility Level

Prev Question Next Question


What is the default Syslog facility level?



Click on the arrows to vote for the correct answer

A. B. C. D.


In the context of Cisco networking, Syslog is a standard protocol that is used to send event messages from network devices to a Syslog server or collector. These messages contain information about various events, such as device startup, configuration changes, and network errors.

When a Syslog message is generated, it is assigned a severity level, which indicates the importance or urgency of the event. The severity level is specified using a combination of a facility and a severity value. The facility indicates the type of device that generated the message, while the severity value indicates the urgency or severity of the event.

The default Syslog facility level in Cisco networking is "local7". This facility level is used for messages generated by local use applications, such as debug messages or user-level messages. The local7 facility level has a severity range from 0 (emergency) to 7 (debugging).

The other Syslog facility levels and their corresponding severity ranges are as follows:

  • local0: messages generated by the kernel
  • local1: messages generated by the user-level daemon
  • local2: messages generated by the mail system
  • local3: messages generated by the system daemons
  • local4: messages generated by security/authorization daemons
  • local5: messages generated by the Syslog facility itself
  • local6: messages generated by line printer daemons

It's important to note that the default Syslog facility level can be changed in Cisco networking devices if desired. This can be done using the "logging facility" command in global configuration mode.