Syslog Configuration: Types of Logs Generated

Level 3 Syslog Trap | Cisco CCNA Exam Answer

Prev Question Next Question


Syslog was configured with a level 3 trap. Which 3 types of logs would be generated (choose three)



Click on the arrows to vote for the correct answer

A. B. C. D. E.


Syslog is a standard protocol used to send event messages about device operations to a logging server or a local file. It enables administrators to monitor network devices, troubleshoot problems, and analyze system performance. Syslog messages are divided into eight levels, from level 0 (emergency) to level 7 (debugging), based on their severity.

When Syslog is configured with a level 3 trap, it means that messages with severity levels 0 (emergency), 1 (alert), 2 (critical), and 3 (error) will be logged. The following explains each of the possible logs that will be generated:

A. Emergencies (level 0) - These are the most severe and urgent messages, indicating that the system is unusable and requires immediate attention. Examples include system crashes, hardware failures, and kernel panics.

B. Alerts (level 1) - These messages indicate a condition that requires immediate action, such as a system or process failure that needs to be addressed urgently.

C. Errors (level 3) - These messages indicate that an error occurred that is not severe enough to cause an immediate system failure but still requires attention. Examples include configuration errors, authentication failures, and access violations.

D. Critical (level 2) - These messages indicate a critical condition that could lead to a system failure or service disruption. Examples include disk failures, power outages, and resource depletion.

E. Warnings (level 4) - These messages indicate a non-critical condition that could potentially lead to problems if left unchecked. Examples include low disk space, high CPU usage, and software version mismatches.

Therefore, the three types of logs that would be generated when Syslog is configured with a level 3 trap are Emergencies, Alerts, and Errors.